Tues:    10 am - 5 pm
Wed-Thurs:    noon - 6 pm
Fri:    noon - 5 pm
Sat:    10 am - 1 pm
Closed Sun & Mon



Events & Programs

Nov. 7: Book Group: Boys in the Boat

Date: 11/09/17 10:30 am

The Library's Book Group meets on the SECOND Thursday of each month at 10:30 a.m. at the library from October to June with a hiatus during the busy summer months from July-Sept.

 

The group reads mostly fiction but a few times a year we discuss a nonfiction book.

 

This is an open book discussion group. Everyone is welcome, whether or not you are a library member!

 

The Book:

 

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

 

This nonfiction book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic Games in Berlin, 1936.

 

The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant.